Home > Recipes > In the Frig – Marinara Sauce (Recipe)

In the Frig – Marinara Sauce (Recipe)

marinara sauce

Marinara Sauce

If you read my last recipe post, you will see that I have a slight obsession with tomatoes! This delicious fruit (yes, if you didn’t know, tomatoes are a fruit!) is gorgeous, juicy and the color red I ache to duplicate on shoes and clothing.   I eat them constantly in Caprese Salads, with my homegrown fresh basil and balsamic, in juices, on sandwiches and as late nite snacks. When I came across the following Cooking Light recipe, I had to try it! (I searched online for this recipe, but I cannot locate it on the Cooking Light website).

So, what does Marinara mean? Some say it means garlic, tomatoes and herbs. But that to me speaks more of the elements versus the meaning. Marinara actually means “of the sea.” Marinara means “of the sea”, not because it has seafood, but because it was made by sailors who had no meat or refrigeration. So there you go! No matter which definition you subscribe to, you must try this delicious recipe. It’s a tomato-lovers dream and friendly for the vegetarian!

TIPS AND MODIFICATIONS

  1. Do your prep! Make sure you take the time to do all chopping and preparation before you begin cooking. This is a basic of cooking, right? However, because this recipe is so simple, it’s easy to just chop as you go. Don’t do it. I burned my garlic once by not taking a few extra minutes to chop my tomatoes. So take the time.
  2. Garlic! I love garlic! So I add a lot more than the recipe calls for – I add at least 3 cloves, sometimes 4 cloves!
  3. Some like it hot! I like a little heat, so I add some red pepper flake. Since my husband doesn’t particularly care for meatless sauce, I don’t measure the flake out, I just shake it in. It gives the sauce a little punch!
  4. For your Health: I am sure any Italian out there will scold me for this! I apologize up front, but I try to look for ways to eat a little healthier. I use 100% Whole Wheat Spaghetti by De Cecco! You will notice a bit of a difference in texture, but I don’t think enough to be off-putting! Plus, you really don’t notice it once you ladle on this bright tomatoe-y sauce! It’s worth a try!
  5. Tomatoes! The recipe calls for 6 pounds of coarsely chopped peeled tomatoes. In the summer, you can find lovely tomatoes at your Farmer’s Market that would be gorgeous in this sauce. However, the recipe also shares that you can substitute a 28 ounce can of whole tomatoes, chopped and undrained, a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes, undrained, 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and a teaspoon of sugar. I have always made it this way and it’s very good. But in the summer, try to use fresh tomatoes!

Bon Appetit!

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoon minced garlic
6 pounds coarsely chopped peeled tomato (about 6 cups)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
8 cups hot cooked spaghetti (about 1 pound uncooked pasta)

Directions
Heat oil in a large suacepan over medium heat. Add garlic, cook 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Add tomato, salt and pepper, bring to a boil. Reduce heat, simmer 25 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in basil and parsely, and cook 1 minute. Serve over pasta. Yields about 6 servings (serving size: 1 up sauce and 1 12/ cups pasta).

  1. July 16, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Hey, I really like your blog. Good recipes. My dad was the chef/owner of an Italian restaurant in town called Arturo’s so I approve of this site.

    You should check out my new Indianapolis blog and add it to your blog roll.

    My site is http://www.adamaasen.com Click on the blog tab for my blog.

    About my site:
    Adam Aasen is a 26-year-old former newspaper reporter living in Indianapolis. He currently works at The Children’s Museum of Indianapolis and performs stand-up comedy around town at clubs such as Crackers Comedy Club.

    • FoodieGal
      July 31, 2010 at 6:31 pm

      I remember Arturo’s! I went there many times. I was sad when it closed! I will check out your blog.

  1. June 14, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Leave a Reply

